Old forum - Imported: FaceRig 3D Character Design Info - Facerig

Homepage Forum Creating & Contributing FaceRIG Editing and Concept Art Old forum – Imported: FaceRig 3D Character Design Info

This topic contains 7 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Pierre 3 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Sweetie Bot

I know this is a bit early, but I am interested in how the characters are designed. I have some experience in the CG field, will the software support models designed and rigged in a 3rd party program like 3DS? Or will they be designed and rigged from scratch in a proprietary format? I am also quite interested in the realtime rendering solution, especially with effects like fur on lower end hardware.
    (Please excuse my bad english, I am still working on it)

Xyphien
    Participant

https://facerig.com/en/forum/topic/3d-template-sheet is another post like this, but I overlooked something prior to making that. If I do recall this ties in with the same reason as to why they are not allowing anyone to test out the game other than the people working with them. It has something to do with contracts, ect. This being said, I doubt we’d be able to get any design information prior to the release of the game.

Mihai

The modeling, texturing, rigging and animations can be made in any commercially available software as long as it can produce the kind of data required for our data importer. While the specs for import data will be settled later on, they probably be something like fbx and/or collada for geometry, rigging and animation and targa for uncompressed texture maps (diffuse, specular, normal map and so on). As for specific shading info, like fur info, there are several way this information can be edited but probably will be contained in auxiliary nodes in the fbx files.